Skip to main content

Alisha Clarkson – North Lancs Training Group

[vc_single_image image=”1889″ img_size=”full” alignment=”center”]

Name, Age and Job Role
Clarkson, 19 years old, Apprentice Accounts Administrator

Which type of Apprenticeship are you doing or have you completed?
Business Administration Level 2 NVQ – Completed
Business Administration Level 3 NVQ – Ongoing

Who do you work for and what do they do?
I work at North Lancs Training Group who are a training provider for Apprenticeships, Traineeships and Study Programmes.

Why did you choose to become an apprentice?
I chose to do an apprenticeship as I was more keen on the idea of working whilst studying qualifications rather than going to college and continuing in a classroom environment.

What does your day in your work life involve?
Working in Accounts at NLTG involves processing invoices, processing payroll, dealing with staff queries and as a company we all have a responsibility to assist applicants and companies with apprenticeship queries.

What do you enjoy and what is the best thing about being an apprentice?
As an apprentice I enjoy having the responsibility of being a full time employee and the maturity I have gained from it. I also enjoy knowing I have earned my wage and having the independence to do things I wouldn’t be able to do if I went to college.

What are your career plans and what would you like to be doing in 5 years’ time?
My career plans are to progress at NLTG, after finishing my Level 3 Apprenticeship I would like to look into doing my Accounts qualifications. In 5 years’ time I see myself fully qualified in Accounts and progressing through the company.

What is your greatest achievement?
I feel my greatest achievement is completing the 3 peaks of Yorkshire in 9 hours 30 minutes. Myself and my brother did this for a personal charity for our family friend who was diagnosed with Osteosarcoma cancer for which we raised money to send her on one last family holiday. As it was late October when we did this, the weather condition made it very difficult but all the more rewarding.

Give us one fun fact about yourself!
In my spare time I enjoy Kickboxing. I have been doing this since I was 8 years old and am currently working towards achieving my brown belt.

What is the best piece of advice you would give to someone thinking about becoming an apprentice?
I would advise them to go forward for an apprenticeship and explain the advantages,for example gaining the work experience, being secure in a job when completed, and earning a full time wage etc.

[vc_wp_search title=”SEARCH FOR AN APPRENTICESHIP”]